Equal Justice Residents

From September 2017 through July 2018, SFAI programming will explore Equal Justice and the following questions within the context of of the residency:

  • How can art be used to engage systems of power and foster social and racial equity?
  • How can community action creatively address accountability and responsibility for equal justice within legal, financial, and social systems?
  • How can creative practices bear witness and give testimony to those who suffer injustice, and in the process help to transform systems of structural oppression?

Residency awardees were evaluated on the following criteria: engagement with the Equal Justice theme, the creative excellence of the application, the applicant’s personal and professional merit, the applicant’s potential for professional development through access to a sponsored residency, their capacity to grow through risk-taking new work, and the potential for their proposed project to effect tangible positive social change in marginalized and oppressed communities.

ABOUT SFAI

At SFAI, we are artists, innovative thinkers and engaged citizens. We cultivate creative leadership and invest in community, culture, and place to re-imagine a more equitable world.

SFAI implements yearlong thematic programing that addresses pertinent questions facing diverse regional and global communities. By hosting residencies for creative practitioners, fostering partnerships with regional cultural and educational organizations, and integrating social entrepreneurial and education initiatives, SFAI aspires to transform Santa Fe into a hub for positive social change that reflects the greatest needs of our times.

Adele Balderston | Hawaii | Geography www.88blockwalks.com
Aditya Rawal | India | Theater www.vervemagazine.in/people/aditya-rawal-on-his-off-broadway-debut-as…
Alicia Inez Guzmán | New Mexico | Non-fiction Writing www.aliciainezguzman.com
Ann Janette Lewis | New York | Installation www.annlew.is
Ato Ribeiro | Michigan | Mixed Media www.atoribeiroart.com
Bruce McKaig | Maryland | Interdisciplinary www.thisplacehasavoice.info
Cara Levine | Oregon | Sculpture www.caralevine.com
Celeste De Luna | Texas | Printmaking www.celestedeluna.com
Chelsea Weathers | New Mexico | Art History www.chelseaweathers.com
Christina Houle | Texas | Performance www.christina-sukhgian-houle.squarespace.com
Medicine Wheel Collective | Columbia | Installation www.suomfrancis.org
Confluence Collective | New Mexico | Mixed Media www.ahnirocheleau.com
them/me | Montana | Sculpture & Installation www.cristaannames.com
Cyndie Bellen-Berthézène | New York | Opera www.timeinkids.org
Cynthia E. Smith | New York | Design www.cooperhewitt.org/channel/by-the-people
Darice Polo | Ohio | Film www.daricepolo.com
Deborah Koenker | Canada | Mixed Media www.connect.ecuad.ca/people/work/18763
Deirdre McDonald | Canada | Sociology http://carleton-ca.academia.edu/DeirdreMcDonald
Eileen & the In-Betweens | New Mexico & Canada | Music www.eileenshaughnessy.com
Ekene Ijeoma | New York | Interdisciplinary www.ekeneijeoma.com
Eliza Myrie | Brazil | Installation www.elizamyrie.com
Oscar Maynard | California | Printmaking www.countrycounterculture.com
Eva Rocha | Brazil | Installation www.evarocha.com
Feminist Art Museum | Canada | Land Art https://www.facebook.com/events/1700424936929290/
Fran Osborne | California | Curation www.franosborne.com
Gabriel Sosa | Massachussetts | Interdisciplinary www.gabrielsosa.com
Gaëtane Cummings | Canada | Painting www.gaetanecummings.com
Gil Arnaud Ngole | Republic of Congo | Installation https://www.law.ox.ac.uk/research-subject-groups/centre-criminology/centreborder-criminologies/blog/2017/04/silent-and
Glynn Burroughs Cartledge | Georgia | Interdisciplinary http://glynnbcartledge.com/home.html
Heidi Boisvert | New York | Dance & New Media http://www.heidiboisvert.com
Israel Haros | New Mexico | Interdisciplinary www.bordercanto.wordpress.com
La Familia | New Mexico | Photography www.jackiemunro.com
Jacqueline C. J. Barnes | New Jersey | Graphic Novels www.jc-jb.com
Jaimie Page Brill | Texas | Social Work https://www.tamuc.edu/academics/cvSyllabi/cv/BrillJaimie.pdf
Janet Rogers | Canada | Radio/Podcasts www.facebook.com/poetlaureatevictoria
Jay Critchley | Massachusetts | Installation www.jaycritchley.com
Jess Zimbabwe | Washington DC | Interdisciplinary http://www.nlc.org/person/jess-zimbabwe
Jessica Lawless | California | Interdisciplinary www.jessicalawless.net
Jody Wood | New York | Interdisciplinary www.jodywoodart.com
Burnside Farms | Michigan & Brazil | Interdisciplinary www.burnsidefarmdetroit.com
La Pocha Nostra | California | Performance www.pochanostra.com
Marco Castro-Bojorquez | Mexico | Film www.elcantodelcolibri.com
Maria Melendez Kelson | Colorado | Fiction Writing www.mariakelson.com
Marjorie Beaucage | Canada | Film www.vimeo.com/marjoriebeaucage
Mercedes Dorame | California | Photography www.mercedesdorame.com
Michelle Angela Ortiz | Philadelphia | Murals www.michelleangela.com
Niomi Fawn Moss |New Mexico | Curation www.niomifawn.com
Omar Jevdat Sakr | Australia | Poetry www.omarsakr.com
Outposts of Resistance | Germany | Art History & Video www.outpostsofresistance.net
Paula Castillo | New Mexico | Sculpture http://paulacastilloart.com
Peggy Diggs | New Mexico | Mixed Media www.peggydiggs.net
Pod Liminal | Canada | Interdisciplinary vanessakwan.com
Quenna Lene Barrett | Illinois | Performance www.theblackmeinmedia.wordpress.com
Minoosh Zomorodinia | Iran | Installation & Performance www.rahelehzomorodinia.com
Robert García | Guatemala | Interdisciplinary www.cityprojectca.org
Rosa Naday Garmendia | Cuba | Installation www.rosanadaygarmendia.com
Sabine Mirlesse | France | Photography www.sabinemirlesse.com
Sandra Paola López Ramírez | Columbia | Performance www.sandrapaolalopez.com
Sara Madandar | Iran | Mixed Media www.saramadandar.com
Sarah Schulman | New York | Non-fiction Writing www.actuporalhistory.org
Sarah Shotland | Pennslyvania | Writing www.wordswithoutwalls.com
Scott Davis | New Mexico | Interdisciplinary https://www.linkedin.com/in/scott-davis-8a28b917
Shanna Merola | Michigan | Interdisciplinary www.shannamerola.virb.com
Shaun Leonardo | New York | Mixed Media www.elcleonardo.com
Shelbie Loomis | New Mexico | Interdisciplinary www.shelbieloomis.com
Soulaf Abas | Syria | Printmaking www.soulafabas.com
Farrah Marie Miranda & Evelyn Encalda Grez | Canada | Interdisciplinary www.farrahmariemiranda.com
Stephanie Dinkins | New York | Interdisciplinary www.stephaniedinkins.com
Storycatchers Theatre | Illinois | Theater www.storycatcherstheatre.org
Tamara Ann Burgh | New Mexico | Mixed Media www.tamaraburgh.com
Moses Tan | Singapore | Mixed Media www.mosestanqy.com
Testify:Indigenous Laws + the Arts | Canada | Interdisciplinary www.testifyindigenous.ca
Tiger Toe Radical Recess | New Mexico & California | Interdisciplinary www.postrequisite.com
Thermometer Collective | Tennesse | Interdisciplinary www.tobacco-brown.squarespace.com
Touchstone Collaborations | Britain & Zimbabwe | Interdisciplinary www.touchstonecollaborations.com
Veena Vasista | New Mexico | Interdisciplinary www.seeandconnect.com
Veronica Jackson | Washington DC | Exhibit Design www.jacksondesigngroup.com
Wesley Fawcett Creigh | Arizona | Mixed Media www.wesleyfawcettcreigh.com